The Mouse Connection
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pictures of your RUB cages?

4 posters

Go down

Pictures of your RUB cages? Empty Pictures of your RUB cages?

Post by NoaDaKiwi Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:56 pm

Sorry if this is in the wrong section!
I'm getting my trio of mice a 64 liter RUB and was trying to find pictures of members' RUB cages, but I couldn't find any. Would anyone like to share their pictures with me? What size bin did you use? What size mesh did you use and where (sides or top)? How did you attach a water bottle? Would a bottle holder work?

NoaDaKiwi
Pinky
Pinky

Back to top Go down

Pictures of your RUB cages? Empty Re: Pictures of your RUB cages?

Post by Anktian Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:09 pm

I've only made a handful of these so far, so I'm by no means an expert. I haven't tested mine out on mice yet, but my Chinese Dwarf hamsters seem to be situating just fine into them. I hope this helps!

Really Useful brand is not readily accessible to me, so I've gone with another brand that is similar. Regardless, it accomplishes the same thing. Please note that this is the first one my fiance and I put together, so it's a bit rough in places. We've gotten better as we've gone along (figured out easier, better methods, aha). I just don't have any updated photos of the newer ones yet.

This bin is small. It's a 29.3 liter (fairly tall, as you may or may not be able to tell from the photo), but it's only used to house two tiny Chinese Dwarf hamsters so it works fine for them. I have some larger ones that I'm working on converting over, but they're not finished yet to share photos of.

For the mesh, I went with 1/4" x 1/4" since I couldn't fit a pencil through it. Someone once told me that if I could get a pencil through, it was probably too spaced for a young mouse and they might escape. I've not been willing to test otherwise, aha. Happy